Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
 First Time Turkey Hunter >

First Time Turkey Hunter

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

First Time Turkey Hunter

Old 03-09-2006, 06:06 PM

Default First Time Turkey Hunter

OK, here's the scoop, I'm 38 years old and have never been turkey hunting but have always wanted to. The land I have been renting for the past 2 years for deer hunting is in the flood plains of the lower Roanoke River in Eastern, NC. I would estimated that I saw over 200 turkeys during this past deer hunting season. We don't have a fall turkey season in Halifax Co. any more but our spring season comes in April 8th. I've been practicing with a box call listening to variousturkey callerson the internet and trying to reproduce the sounds that they make. I know about using an owl call to locate the turkeys as I've heard gobblers answer owls during many early morning deer hunts.

I do have a few questions about gear. I have 2 shotguns, a Remington 870 pump with interchangeable chokes and a Winchester model 1300 with a 22" barrell and interchangeable choke tubes. Which gun would you recommend and what size shot (both chambered in 3")?

I used to manage the sporting goods department in a local hardware store and most turkey hunters preferred duplex shells. Are they any better than using just a #6 shot or what would you recommend?

I'm starting to get excited about next month so any advice and help you can give will be appreciated!

Reg

Cloudwalker's Basecamp
Old 03-09-2006, 06:31 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: First Time Turkey Hunter