Community
Small Game, Predator and Trapping From shooting squirrels in your backyard to calling coyotes in Arizona. This forum now contains trapping information.

Always from downwind??

Old 02-12-2003, 08:47 PM
Fork Horn

Default Always from downwind??

Since I am new to coyote hunting, I was just wondering, when I pick a spot to call from, should I always be looking for the coyote to come from the downwind side of my caller?
Will a coyote ever come across an open field with the wind at his back? This is important for me to know, so I can choose a better setup.
Old 02-12-2003, 08:55 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Always from downwind??

will a coyote ever come across an open feild with the wind at his back?? as a general rule when responding to a call - no,but this is not to say it would never happen.when targeting coyotes always set up expecting the coyote to circle around to the down wind side.if you expect it, and when it happens you will be ready for it.
Old 02-12-2003, 09:26 PM

YES and YES
Old 02-13-2003, 09:09 AM

I would say there are no real rules, other than if they smell you they are gone.
Seems to me they seem to have a knack for coming in from the direction that you least expect.
The majority of dogs I call in don' t seem to make an effort to get down wind. I hunt in fairly open country and I think they come in more looking for movement than trying to get my scent.
They do not hesitate to come in across the open with the wind at their back.
Good camo and don' t move, set up where you can see them if you do call one in.
That was a mistake I made when I was first starting. I used to call them in and not get a shot, because I was not set up in a way that allowed me to get a shot. Now when I call one in I usually shoot it.
Old 02-13-2003, 09:27 AM
Super Moderator