Community
Bowhunting Gear Review Broadheads, arrows, rests, bows, and more... read the latest reviews of hot new gear items related to archery and bowhunting.

Safety Harness works!!!

Old 11-23-2004, 07:12 PM

Default Safety Harness works!!!

Ive been using the Seat o the pants harness for 5 years now. Use the safety belt as I go up the tree and attached safety lanyard before stepping on treestand. My hunting partner was using what I considered a lesser harness and I would not let him in my stands until he up graded. His wife called me at 900pm last night saying he didnt come home so I went to look for him. Where he hunts he was getting into a stand that collapsed on him . He was ok but he one strap caught on a footpeg where he could not turn around to free himself. He had a couple of cuts and bruises but said he was pretty comfortable just hanging there. He thinks if he had a cell phone in his pocket he could of used it to call for help. I wish all good hunting but more important SAFE HUNTING!!!!!!
Old 11-23-2004, 09:20 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Safety Harness works!!!

Pretty cheap life-insurance, wasn't it? Just think about how many people are killed or maimed for life for the sake of spending $60 on a good harness, and then learning how to use it.

Good news for your friend. A happy ending.
Old 11-24-2004, 04:45 AM
Dominant Buck

I know the feeling ,
I got to "test drive" my safety harness just last Saturday . I have the older shoulder harness type , and it wasn't all that comfortable but it sure beat hitting the ground from 15 feet . [&:]
Old 11-24-2004, 05:56 AM
Fork Horn