Community
Wildlife Management / Food Plots This forum is about all wildlife management including deer, food plots, land management, predators etc.

seeding rates

Old 02-28-2004, 08:27 PM
Fork Horn

Default seeding rates

I am planning to frost seed red and white clover into a feild on the farm i hunt. What is the normal seeding amt. per acre. Im new at this if i need to give more info let me know.
Also, can i frost seed over the existing grass, its low, or do i need to till, disk or both.
thanks
Old 02-29-2004, 01:59 PM

Default RE: seeding rates

If the existing grass is quite thick, the clovers will have a battle trying to grow thru all of it. If you do, you may have to mow the grass low and spray with a grass specific herbicide to get rid of the competition. I would till, hit it with roundup and then seed. You'll get a better plot, and you still have plenty of time for the clover to grow before fall. That is if the deer don't keep it clipped.

Russ
Old 02-29-2004, 08:16 PM
Nontypical Buck

you definitely want to reduce competition as much as possible, as well as have as much exposed soil as possible. To do this you should have mowed it hard and low several times in the fall and try to expose some soil with some lite discing maybe. Frost seeding is meantr to be a quick, inexpensive way to establish legumes. I know several farmers who preform it regularly for maintaining their pastures and have excellent success (and others that have had limited success) The normal recommended rate is usually no more than 1-2# per acre. Another way to "frost" seed is to do a variation I call mud seeding - spred the seed on the muddiest day (hopefully still some freezing/thawing taking place), where your 4wheeler/tractor does some minor digging and exposes soil to help the seed take. Additional mowings through the spring should help reduce competition while the clover is establishing.
Old 02-29-2004, 09:56 PM
Nontypical Buck