Wildlife Management / Food Plots This forum is about all wildlife management including deer, food plots, land management, predators etc.

Food plot question??????

Old 06-27-2007, 10:05 PM
Fork Horn

Default Food plot question??????

I have used Whitetail Institute products with great success! But I have put a small plot with an off-brand, which i had picked up at the local co-op.... It contains turnips, rape, clovers and chicory..... What is rape and how do deer utilize it??? Does anyone use rape or turnips in there plots and at what time do deer utlize it??? How well do deer like turnip greens? do they like them as well as clovers/chicory? Do have to wait until frost for deer to start to use it?????
Old 06-28-2007, 04:17 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Food plot question??????

I have been pushing rape and turnips on here for close to 12 years... Rape is a green like turnips and is a little cheaper for the seed and deer will just go crazy over it, same as turnips... Plant it in August and deer will hit it in the fall when other food sources are diminishing....
Old 06-28-2007, 05:54 AM

What RonM said. They will start to use them more after a good frost; it converts the starches into sugars and makes the greens taste sweeter. If it's a very small plot don't expect it to last more than a week or two if you have good numbers of deer.
Old 06-28-2007, 07:12 AM
Nontypical Buck

ORIGINAL: whitetailcrazy

Does anyone use rape or turnips in there plots and at what time do deer utlize it??? How well do deer like turnip greens? do they like them as well as clovers/chicory? Do have to wait until frost for deer to start to use it?????