Wildlife Management / Food Plots This forum is about all wildlife management including deer, food plots, land management, predators etc.

Food Plot implement question

Old 06-02-2005, 02:23 AM
  #1  
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: FT Benning
Posts: 116
Default Food Plot implement question

I am wondering if any one is using a combination implement for there food plots, and if so what brand and what do you think of it. The reason I ask is I live pretty far from my property and I will need to get plots in as quickly as possible. So having most of the equipment in one package is a plus for me. I have been looking at the Firminator, the ECO drill from Kasco and lastly the plot master. Anyone who can help out please speak up. I would appreciate any advice.
PYseeker is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 09:19 PM
  #2  
Typical Buck
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location:
Posts: 565
Default RE: Food Plot implement question

for what it is worth I talked with a fellow that has a plotmaster. He says it does a great job with larger grains but poorly with the smaller grains. It has 3 degrees of agressiveness on the disc and with a 40 hp tractor he can run it on the 3rd or most agressive cut but on an atv he said I would only be able to run on the 2nd degree. also, with an atv in his opinion it would take 2 passes to do everthing instead of one with a tractor. a tractor has the pto and can really make it work. now with all that being said, I have a disc and an 100lb spreader that I purchased for 500.00. I am looking at getting a harrow rake, lawn roller and a spot sprayer to complete my arsenal. I will have about 1000.00 in equipment vs the 3000.00 for the plot master. I may even make my own harrow rake out of a pipe and fence. if you are going to do small plots then you can get a seed drill like used in gardens for the big seeds such as soybeans or you can broadcast them also but you must use 30% more seed if you broadcast. hope this helps ya out.
arkansasbowhunter is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 09:21 PM
  #3  
Typical Buck
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location:
Posts: 565
Default RE: Food Plot implement question

have you got prices for the toys you were looking at. the firminator looks good IMO. I couldn't find a price for it though.
arkansasbowhunter is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 01:21 AM
  #4  
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: FT Benning
Posts: 116
Default RE: Food Plot implement question

ORIGINAL: arkansasbowhunter

have you got prices for the toys you were looking at. the firminator looks good IMO. I couldn't find a price for it though.
Thanks for the information. The reason I want to go with a multifunctional implement is beacause of the lack oif time I will have to put in plots. I live 9 hours from my land and only will have limited time to put in plots. I have requested info on all the equipment, so I am not sure about cost yet, but I'm willing to bet that the firminator will be slightly more than the plotmaster. Thanks again.
PYseeker is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 10:23 PM
  #5  
Nontypical Buck
 
farm hunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: cazenovia, NY USA
Posts: 2,973
Default RE: Food Plot implement question

There are few "quick fixes" in farming. (except maybe roundup)

The "Multi-function" implements I've seen are a waste of ALOT of money. You might better hire a local farmer to put in the plot if you really do not have time - rather than layout the cash for an "all-in-one" tool - that does well on a sandy beach - but not on a real life upland plot - like most of us are trying to do.

Just being realistic. -

FH
farm hunter is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 01:35 AM
  #6  
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: FT Benning
Posts: 116
Default RE: Food Plot implement question

ORIGINAL: farm hunter

There are few "quick fixes" in farming. (except maybe roundup)

The "Multi-function" implements I've seen are a waste of ALOT of money. You might better hire a local farmer to put in the plot if you really do not have time - rather than layout the cash for an "all-in-one" tool - that does well on a sandy beach - but not on a real life upland plot - like most of us are trying to do.

Just being realistic. -

I have thought about that to, I just would get more satisfaction from doing all the work myself. Thanks for the input Farm hunter.

FH
PYseeker is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 02:49 PM
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Pompey, NY
Posts: 26
Default RE: Food Plot implement question

I find the all in one concept hard to believe. Especially given the fact that large scale farming does not offer such a device. I guess given perfect conditions, this implement would do fine for creating deer food plots. I'd hate to take it over freshly plowed fields with the single line of disks - I think the time on soil would actually increase(and likely break the equipment). On unplowed ground, forget it. A good set of adjustable disks will get your soil cut and reasonably smooth in most every situation. No matter what you use, good preparation and proper soil chemistry will get the results.
sean600classic is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
triggertrav
Wildlife Management / Food Plots
2
04-17-2008 09:23 PM
rtoddstj1
Wildlife Management / Food Plots
1
04-15-2008 10:56 AM
mossbergman11
Whitetail Deer Hunting
3
01-01-2008 09:07 PM
TimberWolves
Wildlife Management / Food Plots
3
06-17-2006 10:09 PM
flyfisher18
Wildlife Management / Food Plots
4
01-13-2002 07:40 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Quick Reply: Food Plot implement question


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.