Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

gutting a deer

Old 09-24-2004, 02:35 PM
Typical Buck

Default gutting a deer

Okay, i have been hunting for a few years, got a deer or two under my belt, but i have never really gutted a deer all by my self. We usually have a guy in our group that actually likes doing it. So of course we let him. I will be bow hunting by myself the next couple of weekends and if i get a deer, i just want to make sure i do it correctly and as fast as possible. Can anyone here detail the process for me? i would really appreciate it.

also, how fast after gutting should i get the deer cold or processed. It's still in the 70's here in WI
Old 09-24-2004, 02:49 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: gutting a deer

Go to the search function and type in field dress. You'll get tons of hits and a few with descriptions. Without a doubt, given those temps, I would be field dressing and skinning IMMEDIATELY. It would hang in my cool basement if I couldn't get it to the processor same day.
Old 09-24-2004, 03:05 PM

ORIGINAL: semi
We usually have a guy in our group that actually likes doing it.