Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Favorite skinning knife?

Old 09-24-2003, 10:19 AM

Default Favorite skinning knife?

Hi,

I have several sheath knives, but none of them is a " skinner." What do you use and do you use a gut hook?

Thanks.
Old 09-24-2003, 01:53 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Favorite skinning knife?

I have been using an old Coleman/Western skinning knife for about twenty years now. It has never failed me! It has a stainless blade and a rubber handle. It holds a good edge and the rubber handle has a good feel to it. It will probably last me the rest of my life, if I don' t retire it.
Coleman/Western has changed names now. I have been seeing a knife just like mine with a Buckmasters label on it. The only difference is the new model has a gut hook.
I have always wanted something with a gut hook, but I really have never punctured the guts before.
Anyway, the knife I have cost me about fifteen dollars, assuming that it will last me many more years, I' d have to say that it was one of the biggest bargains I' ve ever bought!
Old 09-24-2003, 03:01 PM
Giant Nontypical

I am not sure if you are looking for gutting/feild dressing knives or actual skinning knives (some use them for both while other prefer different tools for different tasks). Personally I am the type each task requires a different tool. For field dressing and carrying on my belt or in my pack I have the following:

- 3.5" foldling Blade knive with non-slip handle (Gerber)
- Alaskan Blade Trader with saw, gut hook, drop & boning/fillet knife
- Sagen Pelvis Saw

Most times I drop the guts where the animal lies to reduce the drag weight in doing this I use just a regular knife either the 4" drop or folding knife & my sagen pelvis saw. Leaving the hide on.