Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Hunting Gear Discussion
 field dressing/skinning knife, I need a new one >

field dressing/skinning knife, I need a new one

Hunting Gear Discussion Clothing, stands, ATV's, optics, scents, calls, etc... read the latest reviews of hot new hunting gear items here.

field dressing/skinning knife, I need a new one

Old 09-16-2006, 01:26 PM
Fork Horn

Default field dressing/skinning knife, I need a new one

I have a browning fdt folding knife that i've been using for the last 4 years, its works allright but it doesn't seem like it holds and edge very well and its a pain in the arss when you have to clean fat and dried blood out of all the nooks and crannies. I think i'm gonna try a fixed blade this time. What do you guys use?
Old 09-16-2006, 03:50 PM

Default RE: field dressing/skinning knife, I need a new one

I have been using a kershaw blade trader knife for the past 5 years or so. In my books its the best knife you can get. It has a slim blade, a wider blade with a guthook for skinning as well as a bonesaw blade. The handle pivots open and just swap the blades around. It holds an edge that will shave paper and has a lifetime warranty i believe. I typically use the wider blade most of the time, the gut hook is razor sharp and will split a hide from neck to nuts in a second. I have not yet used the bonesaw blade because i have an electric meat saw so I am unable to comment on that. If the blades become to seem loose in the handle just shim it up with a slice of masking tape and your rockin' again. Its a great setup and you will find that lots of guys on here use that knife.
Old 09-16-2006, 06:45 PM
Giant Nontypical

I have a lock blade Buck knife, and for delicate areas, I have standard small jackknife. I don't have a skinning knife (yet), but I have heard that a really cool (and veryancient) skinning knife is an Alaskan Ulu (sp?).

Old 09-17-2006, 07:37 AM