Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
 Gaining permission to hunt new properties >

Gaining permission to hunt new properties

Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Gaining permission to hunt new properties

Old 04-26-2009, 03:09 PM
Fork Horn

Default Gaining permission to hunt new properties

The past couple years I haven't had very good access to hunting land so I was thinking about going door to door and asking permission from landowners to hunt their property. I have never done this before so I was wondering if anyone that has done it has some advice.
Old 04-26-2009, 04:40 PM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: Gaining permission to hunt new properties

If your state DNR is like mine then their website has a downloadable permission form that outlines the legal rights of the property owner who allows you to hunt/fish their land. Ours outlines what activities are allowed/prohibited, and much more. It also reminds the landowner that allowing such activities indemnefies them from any legal liability by state law. It's a pretty good bet that your DNR has a similar form since your state probably has a similar law, consult your local game warden. I've used ours with considerable success.