Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

i dont understand

Old 04-27-2004, 01:24 PM

Default i dont understand

this is my first year turkey hunting and i have been 3 times so far. i have watched all these hunting shows on turkeys and i dont get it. are these guys hunting turkeys in a pen or what? on these shows they get out of a truck and hit a box call and bam they get a gobble . well it hasnt happened like that for me yet. another thing is that i can tip toe through the woods and see one far off and before i can hide or call or anything he's gone but i almost run over them when i'm driving around . i just don't understand how this turkey hunting works , i've done everything these shows do and nothing. today i started before the sun came up and quit around 2:30 . maybe i'll have better luck at food lion . does anyone one have any certain way they go about hunting turkeys but i haven't got a clue. thank's signed nc (idontwatchturkeyhuntingshowsanymore)turkeyhunter[:@]
Old 04-27-2004, 01:38 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: i dont understand

I don't think any of those shows ever said it was easy. Bottom line if you hunt where there is lots of turkeys you're more likely to get out of the truck and make them gobble.

Sometimes they are quiet however. Try different calls. I have 4 friction calls with about 6 different strikers, 2 box calls, and a push button. Sometimes you will sit there calling and nothing. Switch from the box to a slate and whamo...gobble, gobble, gobble.

Like I said sometimes they are just quiet. I have sat for 3 hours in one spot just calling periodically. Never get a response. Finally have to move and you take 3 steps and all of a sudden a major ruckus erupts as the turkey scramble.