Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
 I have a stupid question about shot size >

I have a stupid question about shot size

Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

I have a stupid question about shot size

Old 03-25-2009, 05:39 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default I have a stupid question about shot size

I've been hunting for 37 years now but I'm new to turkey hunting so don't chastiseme too bad for asking this. Why do we beat ourselves up with pattern density and head shots? Why aren't we using larger shot and taking body shots? I know that some states have pellet size restrictions that force us into hunting this way, but why. I can imagine a gobbler being any tougher to kill than a large canadian goose or one of those sand hill cranes that they hunt in Texas. Would either lead or hevishot in BB or T shot do the trick?
Old 03-25-2009, 06:39 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: I have a stupid question about shot size

No, those feathers act like a flak jacket! ...that and the vitals are protected by about 3 inches of breast meat and a wide keel. You want to break their neck or penetrate the brain pan on a turkey. Also, if you aim at the head, you are wasting half of your pattern, so the aimpoint is right where the feathers meet bare skin on their neck -- right at the waddles. Go get 'em!
Old 03-25-2009, 06:51 PM
Nontypical Buck

ORIGINAL: barefoot

No, those feathers act like a flak jacket! ...that and the vitals are protected by about 3 inches of breast meat and a wide keel. You want to break their neck or penetrate the brain pan on a turkey. Also, if you aim at the head, you are wasting half of your pattern, so the aimpoint is right where the feathers meet bare skin on their neck -- right at the waddles. Go get 'em!

Exactly!
Old 03-26-2009, 12:03 AM
Nontypical Buck