Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

mouth call question

Old 04-09-2007, 07:50 AM
Typical Buck

Default mouth call question

I am new to turkey hunting this year, so I went out and bought 4 different calls, a push button, box, slate and a mouth call. All I can produce quality turkey sounds on occasion except for the mouth call.

What words or noises do you say or make to create a cut, yelp, cluck, etc.

All the information I can get on using this bad boy will help tons.

Thanks fellas
Old 04-09-2007, 08:17 AM

Default RE: mouth call question

I'm a recent learner (although I've gotten to where I can do the whole kit--yelps, cuts, clucks, purrs, everything except gobbles) so I can sympathize with you.

For me, I started out trying to do the thing with saying certain words to get certain calls...it did NOT work. Sounded like the most god-awful noises you've ever heard, like a cat drowning in a burlap sack thrown in the lake.

Then I heard Matt Morrett on a video say to just start with just trying to get a consistent noise. You'll know when you've got the right noise to shape the different calls from. Just get to where you can consistently make the noise, and can keep it going for several seconds. It won't sound like a turkey yet (more like a bad harmonica), but it's the starting point.

Once you can consistently make the noise, you can start using your tongue and mouth movement, along with volume and starting/stopping the sound, to shape the noise into turkey sounds. The easiest to start with is the yelp, then move on to cutting and clucking.
Old 04-09-2007, 08:21 AM
Nontypical Buck

Cheeee-uckkkkk is a good one to start off with-

Good Luck!
Old 04-09-2007, 08:38 AM
Typical Buck

Here is a good link to use to learn how to use the diaphragm call...

http://www.turkeyhuntingsecrets.com/...ling-learn.htm
Old 04-09-2007, 09:05 AM
BKE
Fork Horn