Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Regional Forums > South
 Cooling off meat in Florida >

Cooling off meat in Florida

Community
South VA, KY, AR, TN, OK, TX, LA, MS, AL, FL, NC, SC, GA

Cooling off meat in Florida

Old 10-19-2005, 08:47 AM

Default Cooling off meat in Florida

I am new to Florida (Just west of Orlando) and my first question is how you do cool off the meat quickly here? I haven't seen any game processing places around, and I usually do my own butchering. While it may be cooling of a little, it is still 85+ most of the day. I don't want my meat to spoil and at those temps it may only take an hour.

Big ice chest full of ice and just quarter it into there as fast as possible?
I have a freezer but it will have to be quartered to get it in there.

Any other tips someone can give me?

Old 10-19-2005, 09:51 AM

Default RE: Cooling off meat in Florida

ice chest will work...after quartering...I try and get it cut up and packaged soon in that heat...but the ice chesst will hold it cold for a while. just keep checking the ice and take care of business of cutting up as soon as time permits...
Old 10-19-2005, 10:48 AM

I live in south Alabama and weskin out andquarter our deeras soon as possible, thenstore the quartered animal in ice chest. I personally like to age my deer in ice for a week prior to butchering and freezing. I have never had a complaint about "gamey" meat this way. Just cover the meat in ice inside your cooler. Keep extra ice on hand to refill cooler every day, place cooler ona slope (the top of my doghouse works great)to let water and blood pour out the drain cap. Sprinkle salt on top of ice with every refill. Venison will be nice and tender with no wild taste, before freezing, I also trim all gristle and fat when butchering andplace cuts of meat ina ziplock bag withmy favoritemeat marinade. Tip: always carry a cooler and at least two bags of ice and a sharp knife and flashlighton every hunt.
Old 10-19-2005, 03:58 PM