Small Game, Predator and Trapping From shooting squirrels in your backyard to calling coyotes in Arizona. This forum now contains trapping information.

Coyote questions

Old 02-20-2007, 04:29 PM

Default Coyote questions

I'm very new to coyote calling. I'm using an "el cheapo" style call. Have downloaded all the free calls I can find. Been using howls the past week hoping to get some mating yotes to take the bait. But have yet to have any luck at killing a yote yet. I know they are around where I'm hunting. Have seen more than one set of tracks in the snow and lots of scat. At night can hear them howling in theres areas as well. I pay attention to the wind and how I set up. Set up in the shade, use camo and have descented it all as well. Have a decent amount of land to hunt and I keep switching up my spots and what sounds I try calling with. Anyone other than that Jake guy have any suggestions?? Thank you in advance!!
Old 02-20-2007, 05:05 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Coyote questions

I used a rabbit in distress CD along with some barks and yips like a couple coyotes fighting over a rabbit. There was good snow on the ground and fairly cold. Had 2 of em come running in looking for a meal to steal.
Old 02-20-2007, 06:06 PM
Nontypical Buck

patience,, and more patience!!!!

Since we don't knowif there is other calling pressure, or other hunting pressure from dog hunters, etc. It's really hard to guess what, if anything, you're doing wrong. BUT, if there are plenty ofcoyotes in your calling areas, and if there has been or is no other calling pressure/hunting pressure on them, then it's probably a matter of time before you succeed. Even veteran callers will go through "dry" spells, even in coyote rich areas.
Without seeing what you're doing and knowing "your" situation, it is very hard to pin point the reason for lack of success!