Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 newbie needs advice >

newbie needs advice

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

newbie needs advice

Old 08-28-2006, 02:21 PM

Default newbie needs advice

So I am new to bowhunting, I used to rifle hunt from a stand and take my deer opening morning, therewasnt much skill involved or gear for that matter. I built a stand 150 yds from a nice game trail and hunted the same spot every year. I decided to become a bowhunter for the challenge and fairness factors.

My question is being on a limited budget, should I get a blind or a stand first? Are polyester blinds a lot quieter? which stand is better, a climber or hanging. I intend to hunt a lot of public land close to home vs the private I rifle hunt that is 2 hrs away. I greatly appretiate all advice and opinions
Thanks
Ken
Old 08-28-2006, 02:34 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: newbie needs advice

I would recommend a stand first.You can always build a blind from natural cover. Being you plan on hunting public grounds,I would recommend a climber.It will give you the versatility to move from place to place fast and easy.Also will save you from having your stands stolen.Another bonus is as long as you are taking it in and out with you,your secret stand sites can stay just that,no one else knows where you are hunting.Just my thoughts.
Old 08-28-2006, 02:35 PM
Typical Buck