Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
Rattling and grunting >

Rattling and grunting

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Rattling and grunting

Old 10-29-2002, 12:34 PM

Default Rattling and grunting

Just a quick question. Im new to bowhunting this year and was curious, when is the best time to rattle and do you do any grunts before or after you start rattling? Do you rattle in the morning or afternoon or does it matter? I will reply to this, Im here all the time. Thanks.
Old 10-29-2002, 01:33 PM

Default RE: Rattling and grunting

I'm new too...been hunting deer but not with bow till this year. I started rattling this week in SW IA. I have brought in 4 bucks. One 5x5 I should have gotten to shoot but Murphy's law. I more or less tickle them first (where most of my reactions happen) and rattle harder if no response in 15 minutes. I rattle every half hour to hour in the morning, lay off about 10:00, start again less frequently from 11:00-3:00 and don't rattle in the evening unless I see a buck. I was grunting too but stopped as I used mature grunt and intimidated a nice deer that was coming in. Because I don't know what size deer is coming I don't grunt unless I can see him and then just enough to get his attention. Hope that helps.

THWACK!
Old 10-29-2002, 02:15 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Rattling and grunting