Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

Elk Camp Setup

Old 07-27-2005, 09:09 AM
Fork Horn

Default Elk Camp Setup

OK Guys- I could use a little advice here.

This year, we decided not to drive the hour every morning to our hunting grounds and then hike 2-3 miles back in the wilderness. We decided to get out to Idaho a couple days early, pack in 5-7 miles and set up a base camp.

We will be hunting near the sawtooth range of Idaho for the first 8 days of rifle season. We plan on setting up camp near a stream in the valley, so that the water masks our noise somewhat.

Is building a fire bad news at this kind of location. Will the smoke, etc...alert nearby game? I'm really new to this type of hunting and would appreciate some advice from your past experiences.

thanks
Old 07-27-2005, 11:08 AM
Spike

Default RE: Elk Camp Setup

YES, YES, YES!!!

Having a camp fire is a really enjoyable part of camping. BUT, you are not camping, you are hunting! So many times hunters will camp in the middle of the hunting area so they don't have to hike so far from camp to hunt. Then to top it off they have a camp fire and cook greasie foods outside. All they do is stink up the woods around them. Then they wonder why they had to hike 5 miles from camp just to see an animal. If you are going to be camping close to where you plan to hunt, then try to camp on an opposite ridge or canyon from your hunting area.

The other complaint is that they use scent cover up, but still get winded by game. They think that if they can't smell all that smoke on themselves, then the game won't either. WRONG! No matter how much cover scent you put on, the animals are still going to smell the smoke that is on your close, skin, hair, boots,etc..

The best thing to do is to use a propane heater and propane stove. There stillis a little bit of smell to them, butits better than smoke smell.

BM
Old 07-27-2005, 11:52 AM
Nontypical Buck