Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Rattling?

Old 09-11-2002, 09:24 PM

Default Rattling?

I'm fairly new to deer hunting and I would like to try rattling this year. I have a small set of antlers from a buck last year and I also have a grunt tube. I was wondering if anyone could give me some tips on sequence and technique. I know rattling doesn't work all the time but it's just something I would like to try this year but I just don't know how to go about doing it. Any help would be appreciated, thanks
Old 09-11-2002, 10:21 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Rattling?

Shane, your right rattling isn't a sure fire technique, but at times it works great. I use to believe the best time to rattle was pre rut and yes my results of seeing bucks is higher, but not bick bucks. The last few years I have done a lot of rattling in the heat of the rut, while I don't see as many smaller bucks the quality has improved to bigger bucks. I do still rattle in pre-rut though.