Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Antler Question

Old 02-06-2005, 02:11 PM
Typical Buck

Default Antler Question

Im from midwest and never have found out what crop makes antlers grow best. although most of it is genetics, protiens also play a major roll, what kind of crop such as corn alfalfa beans clover wheat or whatever crop is in your area. is it really neccisary to have food plots in prime location such as this?
Old 02-06-2005, 03:25 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Antler Question

Deer will generally grow better racks where they have good nutrition and are in good physical condition. It also helps to have a good source of calcium in their diet. It doesn't matter what the food source is. Within the limits of genetics, as long as they are in good shape, they grow the best rack they can.
Old 02-09-2005, 04:59 PM
Typical Buck

I have a degree in wildlife management and I think the most overrated factor in antler growth is genetics. Sure genetics count, but who knows the true (i.e. scientific) genetic makeup of their local herd, even the biologists usually don't really know how the genetics in their local herd compares to neighboring herds. Consequently, genetics becomes basically a b.s. dump, whenever we run out of other explanations, we can tout genetics and sound smart.