Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Right bullets for whitetails

Old 11-30-2019, 10:08 AM
Spike

Default Right bullets for whitetails

My area where I hunt just allowed rifles a couple years ago. While I have been hunting whitetails here in Wisconsin for 45 years, it has been with shotguns. This season I shot a doe with a 308 at a distance of 80 yards in a field with Federal 165 Nosler Accubonds. On the Nosler site they claimed these are made for penetration. I put the round through the rib cage which it did hit a rib bone square but it failed to exit or even hit the other side of the rib cage. While the deer only went about 40 yards, I do like an exit wound for tracking if need be. I guess I just thought at that distance with the Accubonds it should have easily went through the animal. I have taken deer at 120 yards with a 12 gauge through both shoulders no problem. I know I'm pretty rifle stupid and there are a lot of variables, but is that normal? Should I look into different bullet types, or write it off as a WTF moment? The Nosler's are accurate out of my gun and I am going to reload for my gun as soon as I find the right bullet and get some brass lined up. Any info would be appreciated, thanks.
Old 11-30-2019, 03:37 PM
Super Moderator

no its not something that happens a great deal,
but it does happen, if you prefer exit wounds from a 308 win rifle and if you hand load..
you might want to try a speer grand slam 180 grain over 44 grains of varget or ww760 and a 215 fed primer,
one of the guys I hunt elk with swears by those combo's in his BLR
remember critical, precise shot placement and a good knowledge of the anatomy of the game helps immensely

your rifle might be marginally different so start a couple grains lower and work up an accurate load in your rifle

https://www.speer-ammo.com/products/...le-bullet/2063