Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
 What is efficient enough ?..... >

What is efficient enough ?.....

Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

What is efficient enough ?.....

Old 10-31-2003, 08:56 AM

Default What is efficient enough ?.....

I just started practicing last summer and I got 6" groupings at 20yds. I am not a bowhunter by any means yet. I practice off of an 8' shed but I hunt out of a fifteen foot stand. Does it make much difference to you guys, if so should I practice out of the stands I hunt in the offseason. I got out in the woods last season But I missed an opportunity because of darkness. I ended up getting him first day of shotgun. I feal that getting a whitetail with a bow is the biggest challenge of all.
Old 10-31-2003, 09:12 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: What is efficient enough ?.....

6" groups at 20yrds isn' t bad for a beginner, one thing I might make sure of is that you' re shooting a release? I was a 8" shooter at 20yrds pulling fingers, I bought a release and shot 12 groups at 20yrds under 4" with five arrows, scoring 24x' s. It was absolutely amazing the difference it made.

I' m also going to suggest carbon arrows if you' re not already shooting them, there' s jut no comparison in accuracy/trajectory, and you never have a straight alluminum arrow after they' ve been shot once, a carbon is either straight or broken, and they' re a LOT tougher, put an alluminum into a tree trunk and it' s a new arrow, put a carbon into one, assuming you can get it out, it' s fine.