Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Meat Question

Old 10-09-2003, 10:32 AM
Spike

Default Meat Question

Hi Guys,
I am fairly new to deer hunting. I have only taken a doe two seasons ago. Anyway, I have been reading alot about the cuts of meat from your deer. And I know everyone loves backstraps. Are these the tenderloins. When I got my deer back from the butcher I had tons of groud, roast, and sasauge, and like 4 or 6 packages of tenderloins. Would these have been backstraps? Also, is there any good information out there on field dressing and butchering?

Thanks
Bassn
Old 10-09-2003, 11:29 AM

Default RE: Meat Question

I' ll take a minute or two to research good field dressing books for you, but I' ll answer your first question first. Between the rib cage and the hams of any animal, along the spine, you have two cuts of meat - the tenderloins and the backstrap. The backstrap is along the outside, the tenderloins along the inside. If your butcher gives you several packages (and a large quantity) of ' tenderloin,' then yes, your tenderloin and your backstrap is being packaged together.
Old 10-09-2003, 11:36 AM
Typical Buck

No the tenderloins and backstraps are two different cuts of meat. The tenders are located on the bottom of the spine just in front of the pelvic bone. On a deer they run about 12" " long. Backstraps on the other hand are the strips of meat that run the length of the back. these are the pork chops you might say if you were talking about a pig. They are two different muscles. Backstraps are the longismus dorsi muscle and the tenders are the multividous dorsi musles.
Old 10-09-2003, 11:36 AM
Dominant Buck