Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Grunt Calling

Old 04-16-2003, 01:21 PM

Default Grunt Calling

I am new to archery and this year coming will be my second season. I really never used a grunt call in rifle considering my family and I drive hunt. Now I have to use the grunt call for archery. What grunt patterns are the most successful? I read the pattern recommended on the call paper, but does it really work?
Old 04-16-2003, 03:00 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Grunt Calling

Welcome deadly[8D]

Where does it say you need a grunt call or tube for archery? To be 100% honest I have had low success when blind calling with a grunt tube. I use my grunt tube for visuals(seeing game), as a stopping aide for a shot opp. and in conjunction with rattling during pre rut, rut and early post rut. During archery season I use a contact grunt style only, meaning I see or hear an animal I may let out a quite grunt to envoke curiosity. If early pre-rut is on I will use the same contact style grunting & as well a sparring grunt when lightly rattling. Late pre rut and rut I will use the gammit (contact, tending, agressive, etc). Again with visual or in conjunction with rattling sequences.

To stop an animal a whistle will work if in ear shot or a rustle in the leaves. Although a grunt is more natural, either will draw attention to your position. Thus i don' t really believe in the luring affect of a grunt call, unless I am simulating a fight, etc.

My experience has always been in archery prior to prerut I would rather be invisible. Use the call to create an opportunity when I have no other choice, sort to speak. I much rather prefer the use of bleats or fawn bawls as a source for blind calling, but still refer to above answer about being invisible.