Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Questions about Ground Blinds

Old 12-03-2002, 11:20 PM

Default Questions about Ground Blinds

I am considering purchasing a ground blind for a stand site. The area is dense with mature pines and bushes, visibility is limited. A treestand will not increase visibility and may even reduce it. I have never used a ground blind before and wanted to get some thoughts on them. I have sat on the ground where I would like to put it and seen several deer, including a buck I killed this year. Any thoughts?
Old 12-04-2002, 01:07 AM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Questions about Ground Blinds

I agree I think they're better than treestands in many situations. These things are very effective. Too effective sometimes actually. I was almost shot while sitting in one during black powder season when two other guys 200 yards away on the lease couldn't see me inside as they made a stalk. The deer were between me and them. They killed a nice 8 point but I wasn't going to shoot since I could see them downrange for sure. The manufacturers should provide some sort of removable hunter orange that you can use during firearms seasons. Make sure you take an extra piece of orange and hang it in a tree or bush beside you. Wear your orange at all times so be sure to take an extra piece to stay legal.
Old 12-04-2002, 05:43 AM
AK

The pines and brush sound like blinds to me. I spend most of my time hunting on the ground and only use natural vegetation for cover. Sometimes I carry a small piece of die-cut camo fabric to augment the cover I'm using. A pair of pruning snips are invaluable for hollowing a section of brush to nestle down in. Tall grass or weeds, trees, brush, ditches, and other features all work fantastic for cover. Not using man-made blinds allows me to slip through the woods with stealth and mobility.