Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

food plots

Old 06-20-2005, 08:07 PM

Default food plots

Ok this is my first year puttinin in a food plot so far i have cut the grass and (rotatilled ) ? the grass . i was wondering how do we keep it live and healthy if we cant water it ? No i dont have any of the big fancey farm equipment either... Please give me all the help you can... thank you
Old 06-20-2005, 08:20 PM

Default RE: food plots

cut the grass, till it up, lime it, spread the seed, fertilize it , I plant clay peas and acre peas in the summer.
Old 06-20-2005, 08:39 PM

how often do i cut it every weekend to a certin point or do i let it grow to a certin hight?
Old 06-20-2005, 08:51 PM

You cut it once and till it up real good get the dirt tore up so your seed can have a chance to grow. How big an area are you doing? you need a tiller or a disk to break the ground.Before I started using a tractor I used a tiller to break it up. Grass is bad it take away from your peas. You want to plant something with at least 16% Protein. Go to your Co-op or feed and seed store and they will help you. Look at the plots on my web page huntchristiancreek.com go to the "look around" page.
Old 06-21-2005, 12:45 PM
Typical Buck

Your local extension center, farm co-op, or FSA (?) office can help you. Take a soil sample, then get the appropriate amount of lime, then plant & fertilize.
Old 06-21-2005, 05:20 PM

what does lime it mean ?
Old 06-21-2005, 05:53 PM

Lime helps the soil to better produce food for your deer (corrects the PH level) go to a feed and seed store or Co-op as they will be happy to help you learn about planting and in the long run making bigger better deer.
Old 06-21-2005, 06:11 PM

ok thank you moose
Old 06-21-2005, 10:01 PM