Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Waterfowl Hunting
 Finding geese in the field... >

Finding geese in the field...

Community
Waterfowl Hunting Receive the benefit of experienced duck and goose hunters in this waterfowl forum.

Finding geese in the field...

Old 09-07-2008, 09:04 PM

Default Finding geese in the field...

Im new to goose hunting, and been looking for geese the past 3 days, and finally found about 100-150 in a field I hope to have permission to hunt. If they were there tonight, do they usually go to the same spot to feed every night? Or will they go different places each night? If i get permission to hunt, im setting up right after work. Whats the best set-up with 3 dozen shells, and 6 full bodys? I have 2 avery blinds I am taking, this is a cut corn field. Grass field right beside it, and standing corn on the other side. Will the geese fly in to land with the wind, or against it? Where should i put my 2 avery laydown blinds? I was thinking in the green grass, and make them look like little hills....

Thanks
Old 09-08-2008, 08:27 PM

Default RE: Finding geese in the field...

ya hide the blinds a bit away from the spread, just so the birds dont see them when they are focusing on the decoys. They will land into the wind, so set up your decoys with a landing zone. A good starting spread would be to make your decoys into a u shape. Geese can change fields at any time, but if you saw them tonight, they will most likely be back as long as nothing spooked them off. Let us know how you do
Old 09-09-2008, 02:15 PM
Fork Horn

Either a U or V. Make it a wide V with the groups of 2-3 geese in each and a gap of a few feet btw each group... The point of the V should be in wind, and you can put a lay down blind about 5 ft from the point. always works for me
Old 09-09-2008, 03:54 PM