Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Waterfowl Hunting
 What is the best decoy spread? >

What is the best decoy spread?

Waterfowl Hunting Receive the benefit of experienced duck and goose hunters in this waterfowl forum.

What is the best decoy spread?

Old 01-02-2006, 03:25 PM

Default What is the best decoy spread?

Im kinda new to duck hunting but have had little bit of success.What are the best decoys setups for diver ducks?Ive heard set up decoys in a j shape and heard c shape.What is the best # and kind of birds also.Ive been using Teal and Bluebills. Thanks Alot for helpin this ROOKIE
Old 01-02-2006, 03:49 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: What is the best decoy spread?

I like to put my dekes in 2 groups. I tried the C, J, X, S, U, etc. patterns, but it can be difficult to get the ducks to land where u want. An easier and more trusting way to get them to land where u want them to is to position the 2 setups so there is an nice open are in the middle of them. Keep your furthest deke no more than 30 yds. or so from you, so if they land 10 yds. past your dekes, they're still in range.
Old 01-03-2006, 06:04 PM

I myself, like the V. Then put decoys scattered around the V but keep the middle of the V open. Then put 2-5 decoys in the middle of the V like 30 yards. Put ur blind at the tip of the V and see what happens. Wind should be going with u, not againts u.

Good luck and i hope u kill a lot of ducks in the future years
Old 01-04-2006, 06:25 AM

For divers, the best setup usually includes some kind of long line. You have one line extending out a ways and comes back to you. You can hook it at the end or not.