Community
Video & Photography Tips, tricks, and suggestions for videotaping and photographing your hunts.

Frame Rates

Old 09-12-2008, 06:04 AM
Spike

Default Frame Rates

I'm just getting started with my XH-A1 and I'm a little confused about frame rates. I've been shooting in 60i, but should I be using 30F or 24F in certain situations? Is one rate better in low light? What if I want to use my footage for a TV show...do different networks prefer different rates? I tried reading a bunch of material online that explained the 2:3 pulldown, but I'm still not sure why I would use one rate vs the other. Thanks in advance! [/align]
Old 09-12-2008, 08:27 AM
Spike

Default RE: Frame Rates

If the footage is for T.V. shoot 60i The rest is for film like look and it is no good for for showing slow motion shots.
Old 09-12-2008, 11:47 AM
Typical Buck

Shoot 60i.............unless you want to shoot interviews and such to make them look film like, do not use the progressive frame rates, low light is horrible in progressive mode as well as it creates alot of artifacts when moving the camera at anything other than a snails pace.

READ YOUR OWNERS MANUAL! You need to get intimately familiar with your camera and all it's functions , if you want to produce good footage.
Old 09-12-2008, 01:49 PM
Fork Horn

I've had good results using progressive mode with my DVX 100B. I use manual focus and iris. One thing I haven't done is to switch between 24pa and 60i to see how much different it is in low light.
lungbuster, can you explain what you mean by it creates a lot of artifacts?
Old 09-12-2008, 04:56 PM
Typical Buck

ORIGINAL: FarNorth

I've had good results using progressive mode with my DVX 100B. I use manual focus and iris. One thing I haven't done is to switch between 24pa and 60i to see how much different it is in low light.
lungbuster, can you explain what you mean by it creates a lot of artifacts?