Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

New Turkey Hunter

Old 03-31-2005, 07:56 AM

Default New Turkey Hunter

I'm new to turkey hunting this year - I watched all the videos I could before season and feel fairly confident with my calls (except diaphragm, which I'm working out). This weekend I went out twice, with my objective being to learn the hard way how to get a bird. I got to a location near a roosting area, made some soft calls on the slate and got a gobble at 150 yards. Set up under tree and started soft calling & purring and after 30 minutes or so, he came in - got him to about 40 yards before another hen started cutting in the distance and he started to move away. I took a long shot going away but missed.

The point is I was totally unprepared and unexpecting a bird to come in on this hunt. Can anyone give me pointers on working birds from 100 in to 30 yards? and what is adequate gear - I'm shooting a remington 870 wingmaster with full choke? What load should I be shooting? Will a bird work again after being shot at or otherwise spooked, or will they become call shy?
Old 03-31-2005, 08:02 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: New Turkey Hunter

i would of started cutting right back.......... you could of used different strikers to get a different sound, that might of made him think that there were 2 hot hens on your side and only one nasty old hen on the other and he would of turned around heading back to you(ina perfect world, lol).......