Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

New to Turkey Hunting

Old 02-26-2005, 09:27 AM

Default New to Turkey Hunting

Hi guys,

I'm new to hunting altogether and I think I'm going to start turkey hunting this spring and then deer hunting this fall. One of my friends dad's has been hunting since he was my age (14), and he said he can show me alot about whitetail hunting but nothing really about turkey hunting. He says he never went turkey hunting because it didnt appeal to him, so I need some help. If anyone has any tips or tactics they use when tukey hunting, they would be greatly appreciated. I read alot about turkey hunting on websites but I thought I'd ask you guys for any further tips. I will be using a compound bow made by Fred Bear with a 40-pound draw weight and I'm thinking of buying some carbon arrows with those Gobbler Guillotine broadheads if I can find them. I havent purchased any camo yet so tips on that would be good to. Thanks!!!

Mike
Old 02-26-2005, 10:27 AM
Super Moderator

Default RE: New to Turkey Hunting

First don't and I say Don't go Putt Putt its a danger signal to the other turkeys.

I made that mistake last year ( My first time turkey hunting )

If you are useing a bow you need a good blind or build a blind to cover the movement

when drawing the bow.

Rent and watch as much turkey hunting shows as possible.

Get more than one type of turkey calls.

Each hunt is different and every turkey is different.

One day they will respond to a box and the nnext day it will be a slate or in the same day

they will respond to a different call.

And wear all camo it does matter I know from experince ( Last Year )

If you can go with a experenced turkey hunter.

Good Luck
Old 02-26-2005, 06:54 PM
Nontypical Buck

Good luck chasing after them with a bow
Old 02-27-2005, 03:47 PM
Typical Buck