Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
First time turkey hunter - help please! >

First time turkey hunter - help please!

Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

First time turkey hunter - help please!

Old 02-13-2011, 05:35 PM
Typical Buck

Default First time turkey hunter - help please!

I've been hunting whitetail for about 15 years, so I know all about gun safety, camo, scent control, wind direction, etc. etc.

So, I am going to jump into Turkey hunting for the first time this year.

I am thinking about buying the cabela's brand turkey decoys, and I need a call too. Can anyone recommend a call? Are mouth calls easy to master, or should I use something else? What kind of calling strategies are there? I know with deer you use estrous bleat, buck grunt, snort wheeze, etc. What kind of calls do you use for turkey?

Can anyone point me to a good source to learn all about turkey hunting that is less than 30 pages or so, something I can read and at least know the basics?
Old 02-13-2011, 07:25 PM
Nontypical Buck