Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Mouth call placement.

Old 03-17-2008, 06:43 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Mouth call placement.

I'm a total noob to turkey hunting (I went out here and there for a few years, but it wasn't until last spring that my interest really perked for it). I'm starting to learn to use a mouth call (I had tried a few times in years past with no success). I actually found what I "thought" I was doing wrong all along in times before. I found that placing the call back further helped me produce the sounds much better. Basically the front of the reeds are behind where the "dip" in the pallet begins from the front of the mouth. Now, I was just told today, that mouth calls shouldn't be used that far back, and instead the front of the reeds should be close to the back of the front teeth. Now, I'm confused. Am I placing the call too far back and risking choking AND not producing as good of sound as I could up front? I tried placing the call up front in my mouth, and NOTHING comes out...no sound...natta. Any input/opinions? Basically I can get some basic yelps out at this point (just put the call in and started practicing for the first time last night, so I feel like I made some progress in a day). Howeve, being that I don't know any better, I'm worried that my call placement is not correct.
Old 03-17-2008, 06:50 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Mouth call placement.

All you need is to have the tape form a seal in the back of your mouth. The further back the better the sound will be, IMHO. The air should come from your diaphragm and huff it over the reeds.