Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
 Trying to get into turkey hunting need some help please >

Trying to get into turkey hunting need some help please

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Trying to get into turkey hunting need some help please

Old 01-04-2006, 10:19 AM
Typical Buck

Default Trying to get into turkey hunting need some help please

Hey guys. Well im trying to take up turkey hunting and i need some help. I just want to start off by asking which shotgun will you guys recommend and how those all that of getting another choke and stuff work. I have no experience in turkey hunting and im starting from 0 now. So i want to start off by the weapon. Any information will be greatly appretiated. Thank you.
Old 01-04-2006, 01:01 PM

Default RE: Trying to get into turkey hunting need some help please

Lots of variables here. It depends on your preference; go to a sporting goods store (not Wally's) and try shouldering and pointing a few. The two most common types used around here are the pump and semi-automatic. Usually in the 12 ga. version with 3" mag. shells. Most shotguns now come with screw in choke tubes, and from the factory they are usually modified chokes.

For turkey hunting you want either a full or extra full choke. The tubes usually require a wrench to remove and install new tubes, unless they are extended past the barrel. You can usually buy the chokes wherever you purchase the gun. Most any of the major gun maufacturers make god shotguns: Remington, Winchester, Browning, Mossberg to name a few.
Old 01-04-2006, 02:10 PM