Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Traditional Archery
 How does one use a bow stringer? >

How does one use a bow stringer?

Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

How does one use a bow stringer?

Old 01-18-2004, 04:35 PM

Default How does one use a bow stringer?

Hay there sorry, I know this is meant to be very simple. but im new to this and as im from the UK Archery isnt as big over here so its hard to get the info i need.
Im wanting to travel to Bow hunt in a number of years as its illegal in the UK, so have bought a 40lb recurve bow to learn on. However I hear that to fit the Bow string you need to use a bow stringer. I have one but am not sure how to use it? Any help please......

Thank you for any help

Tomy D
Old 01-19-2004, 09:25 AM

Default RE: How does one use a bow stringer?

easier done then explained but here goes..... put the top string loop over the top limb and push it down the limb a small ways. Then put the bottom string loop on the lower tip just like it will be when strung.( half way done ) If your stringer has a cup on each end simply place the cups on the limb tips and with one foot stand in the middle of the stringer and lift up on the bow. This will flex your limbs and all you need to do then is push your top string up and into the grooves. If your stringer only has one cup and a rubber block on the other end ( the kind I prefer ) you put the cup on the lower limb and place the loop with the rubber block over the top limb and put the flat side of the rubber block on the top limb just behind the string loop and again step down on stringer while pulling up on bow then slide the top loop into place. Well thats my .02 and I am not good at explaining things so I am sure it is clear as mud now lol
Old 01-19-2004, 07:38 PM
LBR
Boone & Crockett