Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

bear cheyenne bows

Old 08-26-2003, 09:34 PM

Default bear cheyenne bows

I am new to tradtional archery, I just bought a cheyenne and I am waiting for
delivery. my question is that enought bow are the custom bows really better , faster ,more accurrate ,hit harder or are just better looking
Old 08-27-2003, 09:05 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: bear cheyenne bows

I don' t know what you mean by ' enough' bow. If it' s legal on draw weight and you can shoot it good enough to hit what you' re aiming at, it' s enough bow.

As for custom vs mass produced bows, there are some benefits. First, the mass produced bows are pretty much designed for Joe Average. Someone shooting between 27-29" of draw length with an average sized hand. For Mr Average, mass produced bows are just fine and perform just as well as most custom bows.

On the other hand, for someone like me that draws 32-33" , most all mass produced bows stack up horribly at my draw. I have had 45 pound bows that drew 60 pounds at my draw length, but still shot little faster than the same bow would at 28" of draw. I pretty much have to go custom and get a bow with limbs specifically tillered to perform best at my draw length. And the same applies to guys with shorter than average draws.

Even for Mr Average, custom bows have some good things going. Some bowyers have limb designs that are better than mass produced and give better performance. They can shape the grip to better suit your hand. Then you get into the pretty woods that you can order in your bow vs whatever the big manufacturers decide you' re going to get. Frankly, even though some custom bows are very expensive, quite a few custom or semi-custom bows are very competitive in price with some of the big manufacturers.