Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

Rest ?

Old 02-19-2007, 07:52 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default Rest ?

What is the difference or advantage of shooting with a flipper style rest vs shooting off the shelf of you bow. Thanks!

Hatchet Jack
Old 02-19-2007, 08:05 AM
bigcountry

Default RE: Rest ?

ORIGINAL: hatchet jack

What is the difference or advantage of shooting with a flipper style rest vs shooting off the shelf of you bow. Thanks!

Hatchet Jack
For me, it seems shelf rest, you might need slight less spine for archers paradox and to clear the rest cleanly.

When I started shooting off a shelf, I was amazed how straight a shot a guy can get. Usually bows I see with a rest cutout or ability to put a flipper on, are closer to centerline, and spine is not near as critical.

Old 02-19-2007, 09:55 AM

Jack,
I perfer an elevated rest "NEET PRO REST "HEAVY", I shot off the shelf for at least 90% of the time, till about 3 years ago I tried an elevated rest and I love it, arrows are easier to tune, better flight all around. Its a personal thing I guess.
Tj
Old 02-19-2007, 12:23 PM
Nontypical Buck

Who sells the NPR?

Hatchet Jack
Old 02-20-2007, 05:51 AM
Giant Nontypical

...arrows are easier to tune, better flight all around.
Add 'better accuracy' onto that and you've got the whole thing in a nutshell. Many of the old timers are astounded that shooting off the shelf is popular again because - many, many years ago - they proved beyond a shadow of doubt that shooting with an elevated rest is more accurate.

The deal is, the emphasis has been on instinctive shooting since the rebirth of traditional archery. (Emphasized almost to the point of foolishness, IMO.) Shooting off the shelf is supposed to be more conducive to instinctive shooting because it puts the arrow down close to the hand. Point the hand and the arrow follows.