Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Traditional Archery
 Time to start shopping? I need help! >

Time to start shopping? I need help!

Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

Time to start shopping? I need help!

Old 12-20-2006, 05:01 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default Time to start shopping? I need help!

OK guys, I've been shooting a compound for 3 years and want to start shooting traditional. I just got a $300 Christmas bonus I was not expecting so it is time.I don't even know what I don't know. I think I should start with a recurve. New or used? My compound is a 65# 29" bow. I'm 6'2" and 205 lbs. What should I be looking for? I will be using this bow for hunting deer and hogs. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Greg.
Old 12-22-2006, 09:27 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Time to start shopping? I need help!

I would recommend starting with a recurve. I think new might be better, unless you have patience.It'll be difficult to find a used bow exactly the way you want it. I wouldn't recommend going over 60#. When it gets cold, and your muscles are stiff, it's a challenge to hold. 60# will drive an arrow through anything you'll hunt. I'd recommend a 62" bow. I suspect your 29" draw length is with a release. Your finger draw length will be the same length or a little longer.A longer bow shouldn't stack past 29 or 30".
Old 12-22-2006, 09:40 AM
Giant Nontypical

Time for conflicting posts already. As you can see we all agree on everything here on the trad forum.[8D][8D][8D]

Honestly, I'd drop 20 pounds off your draw weight from the compound. I'd suggest 40-45#'s pull at your draw. It's important not to "fight" with your bow especially when you are first starting out.This poundage will be fine for deer. You will loose draw length when going to traditional usually around 1-2" (99% o the time). I'd figure on the standard 28" draw length.