Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Traditional Archery
 Arrows...What do I need to do? >

Arrows...What do I need to do?

Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

Arrows...What do I need to do?

Old 12-20-2006, 03:34 PM
Fork Horn

Default Arrows...What do I need to do?

First... I apologize for the potential lack of accurate terminology. I'm new to archery and have a steep learning curve to overcome and need lots of help. I'm shooting an American Archery Barracuda(57" 47#@28") My draw length is between 28-29". I purchased some carbon arrows from Cabelas and had them cut there. They measure 28 3/8" from the base of the nock groove to the base of the 100 grain field point. The spec on the box is 400 55/70... 4" vanes.
I was shooting today at about 15 yards and the arrows were not flying straight. Is this normal for a recurve? I see people shooting compounds and crossbows and the arrow's flight path is pretty true. What do I need to do to correct this? Add weight to the arrow? Would it help to shoot 125 gr points? Do I need to insert weight to the spine itself? If I ever get it together, I'd like to deer and turkey hunt with this bow. Any and all comments are much appreciated. Thank you.
Old 12-20-2006, 04:16 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Arrows...What do I need to do?

well I am new to recurve shooting myself and was having this same problem with my arrows. I called the near by outfitter and the owner told me that if i was having this problem then it could be becuase I have plastic vanes, he told me I need feathers. I dont know if this was true but I am going to try it in the next couple of days.
Old 12-20-2006, 05:16 PM
Fork Horn

Thank you for the input. I would eventually like to get some cedar arrows with the flu flu vanes. The carbon with plastic should work though. I have no idea what I'm doing but have a feeling my arrows are too light for the amount of power driving them.
Old 12-20-2006, 05:50 PM

Hey big,