Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Traditional Archery
 Getting the shaft under your eye >

Getting the shaft under your eye

Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

Getting the shaft under your eye

Old 12-01-2005, 10:57 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default Getting the shaft under your eye

I absolutley HATE not being able to cut and paste here[:@]

Please read this link-

http://tradgang.com//noncgi/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=6;t=001480

and imagine I posted it here
Old 12-01-2005, 11:17 AM

Default RE: Getting the shaft under your eye

Highlight it, and select copy. Then come over here and hit ctrl+v and it will paste it for you.

RANGEBALL's POST

Curious as to what bow characteristics dictate how easy or hard it is for an individual shooter to comfortably line the shaft up under their shooting eye?

I'm currently shooting a Martin X200 recurve, my brother's bow. This is my first year in the woods with a stick. I shoot split finger and anchor on my right canine tooth with my middle fingernail.

I've noticed that unless I pay strict attention, the nock end of the arrow when I set up comfortably is to the right of the point end, and I subsequently miss left. To get the shaft under my eye (shoot RH and am RE dominant) requires manipulation that takes me out of what I feel is my natural set up. Since this is the first recurve I've shot (essentially, did shoot some trad when I was a kid but paid zero attention to things like form) I just assumed this is how it is.

A few weeks ago my youngest daughter and I were perusing the hunting section of a farm store, and I grabbed one of those draw length measuring blue fiberglass bows off the rack. I pulled back several times and had her tell me what it read at the eye screw (which was 27.5" each time, what that means as I've no idea if it's amo or what).