Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 bowtech freedom cam draw stop? >

bowtech freedom cam draw stop?

Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

bowtech freedom cam draw stop?

Old 06-08-2004, 05:59 PM
  #1  
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 44
Default bowtech freedom cam draw stop?

I just recently downloaded the 2004 manual off bowtechs website.I noticed that they had the drawstop settings for the freedom cam marked down.Are these the recommended settings to get peak preformance out of the bow or just for the exact draw length the module is supposed to be for?My f4 module is for a 27" draw length and I have been shooting it set on the 6.5 mark.When I set it on the 8.7 mark that is recommended in the manual it feels too short with too much bend in my bowarm.My main concern is does my bow lose any preformance this far back in the valley?Should I try a 28" module and see if it fits better instead of the 27"?I have also heard that you do not want the draw stop set too far back as it could cause the cam to over rotate and damage the cable.I know you can play with the stop a little to get your exact fit but 6.5 seems a lot different than 8.7 setting.Seeing as how I am a short draw archer anyway I want every fps I can get out of my bow.When I purchased my bow my dealer just put the f4 module in had me draw it back too where I was comfortable and slid the draw stop too where it touched the limb and tightened it down.But since I have been reading the manual I think I might should get a 28" module.Any help or info would be appreciated.Thanks!
dixie bowhunter is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 07:44 PM
  #2  
Giant Nontypical
 
Matt / PA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Dover, PA USA
Posts: 5,497
Default RE: bowtech freedom cam draw stop?

Dixie........if I'm reading all that correctly:

If you have a Freedom cam with a #4 mod and you're talking 8.7 post settings I assume that you have a Justice.....I'm not sure why the dealer set your bow as they did.

The 8.7 post setting for the F4 mod is 80% at 27"........at the 6.5 post setting you are over rotating the cam to get your draw length.
The physical difference between the 2 settings is pushing 1/2" that's why you feel short.
The post settings are designed more to give some DOWNWARD adjustment of draw length and also lowering let off and valley a bit......by mixing and matching modules and post settings carefully a shooter can find their desired let-off and draw length. The draw stop is not to be used as a draw length adjuster by itself.

You need a F3.5 module which will give you what amounts to your 27.5" draw length.

Justice: F3.5 @ 9.2 post setting = 27.5" and 80% let off.

This should give you back the draw length you lost when you placed the post correctly for the #4 mod.
If the #3.5 is still too short then try a #3 @7.4 post setting...another reason you might want a #3 is if you desire a draw length AND let-off under 28"/80%.

I'm guessing the 3.5 module at the proper setting will do the trick.
Follow the manual specs to start with with regards to post settings, see how the bow feels and then play a bit to get your personal desired let-off/valley etc.
Matt / PA is offline  
Old 06-09-2004, 01:52 PM
  #3  
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 44
Default RE: bowtech freedom cam draw stop?

Thanks for the info Matt.Gonna have my dealer order me a 3.5 module and try it out and see how it feels.
dixie bowhunter is offline  
Old 06-11-2004, 04:43 PM
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 8
Default RE: bowtech freedom cam draw stop?

dixie bowhunter, I'm looking for an F4 cam. If you decide to get rid of it, let me know. You can e-mail me at [email protected].

Thanks
Bowtech Hunter is offline  
Old 06-11-2004, 05:33 PM
  #5  
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Detroit
Posts: 858
Default RE: bowtech freedom cam draw stop?

Well put by Matt. I can speak for the over rotated cam as well. My Mighty Mite ate the string quick and didn't perform nearly as well as when I changed it to where it was supposed to be.
Trushot_archer is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.