Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 new 2004 pro 40 is in but...... >

new 2004 pro 40 is in but......

Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

new 2004 pro 40 is in but......

Old 01-29-2004, 06:33 AM
  #1  
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 25
Default new 2004 pro 40 is in but......

Yeah I got my 2004 pro 40 dually yesterday but I am not as happy as I thought I would be. Now don't get me wrong it shoots great and balences way better than last years model but I ordered a "heavy" 60# which should have come in around 63-65 lbs and it is a 71 lb bow!!! Also the split harness to the bottom cam has so many twist in it that the split is barely long enough for the cam to go through (hope it stays in time as there is no room for additional twist). I am seriously thinking about sending it back. What do yall think I should do.
sigep1967 is offline  
Old 01-29-2004, 06:47 AM
  #2  
Boone & Crockett
 
PABowhntr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Lehigh County PA USA
Posts: 12,157
Default RE: new 2004 pro 40 is in but......

I think you should post a question about it on this forum so that those with connnections with the company can look into it for you. An email sent to JeffB, Matt/PA or Bowtechshooter might also help further with the issue.
PABowhntr is offline  
Old 01-29-2004, 06:53 AM
  #3  
Nontypical Buck
 
JeffB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 3,058
Default RE: new 2004 pro 40 is in but......

Sig,

Hmm.. Perhaps they put in some extra twists to get that "heavy 60"? It doesn't take many twists on the duallys to ramp up the draw weight. I do know that BowTech really doesn't make "heavy" bows like some other companies offer upon request, though I've seen dealers swap rockers and/or twist up cables to do that. On some of the bows (depending on limb deflection and rocker size) you can switch rockers to get a bit more. On some bows they already use a tall rocker and what you get is what you get.

Shoot me an email and I'll see what I can do to help.
JeffB is offline  
Old 01-29-2004, 07:01 AM
  #4  
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 25
Default RE: new 2004 pro 40 is in but......

Jeff as I said in my earlier post the bow came in at 71 lbs not 65. I bought a heavy 60 last year that came in at 64# and did not have overly twisted cables. The dealer is calling bowtech today to ask about it. I like for the bows I shoot to be bottemed out on the limbs and there is no way I can shoot this one bottomed out. One thing I can say is they seem to have gotton their draw lengths right this year last years 27" module pro 40 dually was mor like 27 3/4" and this one is deffinatly shorter haven't had a chance to actually measure it yet but will today. I do love the new grip for 2004 it is much better than last years. My biggest grip it the split harnnes with so many twist to me it shows that whoever put it together didn't want to take it off and try a shorter one so they just twisted the crap out of it to get it right.
sigep1967 is offline  
Old 01-29-2004, 07:06 AM
  #5  
Nontypical Buck
 
JeffB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 3,058
Default RE: new 2004 pro 40 is in but......

What does the birth cert say? Poundage wise?
JeffB is offline  
Old 01-29-2004, 07:18 AM
  #6  
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 25
Default RE: new 2004 pro 40 is in but......

71 lbs like I said it came in this way. On our scale it was more like 72 or 73. I took out 1 3/4" turns to get down to 66lbs. I can shoot it this way but I hat the way the harness looks.
sigep1967 is offline  
Old 01-29-2004, 07:20 AM
  #7  
Nontypical Buck
 
JeffB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 3,058
Default RE: new 2004 pro 40 is in but......

Sig,

Don't blame ya one bit. I'm on it.

P.S. please let me know the name of your dealer and where they are at.
JeffB is offline  
Old 01-29-2004, 07:25 AM
  #8  
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 25
Default RE: new 2004 pro 40 is in but......

Champion archery in Anniston AL like i said he is supposed to call today. He is usually not there untill after 1:00. Thanks for the help.
sigep1967 is offline  
Old 01-29-2004, 07:33 AM
  #9  
Nontypical Buck
 
BowTech_Shooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: NW Ohio USA
Posts: 1,532
Default RE: new 2004 pro 40 is in but......

From here it's hard to say exactly what's going on with it. It sounds to me like they accidently sent out a 70 lber instead of a 60 lber.

I'm sure they'll take care of it after the dealer contacts them today.

Let us know how things work out.

Regards, Pat
BowTech_Shooter is offline  
Old 01-29-2004, 07:37 AM
  #10  
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 25
Default RE: new 2004 pro 40 is in but......

Pat thats what i think too but i was really looking forward to setting it up for Fla so now i guess i won't be able to unless you guys can pull some strings. hint hint
sigep1967 is offline  

Quick Reply: new 2004 pro 40 is in but......


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.