Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 Teaching an old dog a new trick ( Release Question) >

Teaching an old dog a new trick ( Release Question)

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Teaching an old dog a new trick ( Release Question)

Old 07-03-2005, 07:04 AM

Default Teaching an old dog a new trick ( Release Question)

I have been bowhunting and shooting archery for over 20 years now and will admit. I am slow to try new things. Once something works I just stick with it. For most of my shooting years I have shot fingers, but a couple years ago a friend convinced me to try a release ( Caliber jaw style ) I noticed a improvement in my groupings from the consistent release. So for the last few years ( about 4 ) I have been shooting this style release, but have always had an issue with punching the trigger. I have tried mentally to stop. But can not seem to beat it. I do OK for a while, but seem to end up right back into thie routine of jsut jammin' the trigger once I settle. It is not affecting my accuracy to the point where I a missing the target or Game, just not as conssitent as I would like to be. I have read allot about target panic and this issue. And one thing repeatidly mentioned, was using a release that uses back tension instead of a trigger. What I have not been able to figure out is how it works. I do not want to really sink $60 or more into a new release without understanding how it works. I have read the articles, but was hoping I could someone who uses it to put it in plain english.. Any advice would be appreciated.
Old 07-03-2005, 07:28 AM

Default RE: Teaching an old dog a new trick ( Release Question)