Community
Sporting Dogs What's the best dog for what type of game? Find out what other hunters think.

keping a dog in a cage?

Old 03-10-2004, 08:40 PM

Default keping a dog in a cage?

My mom wont let me get a dog if i have to keep in in a cage she thinks its cruel. i agree somewhat, so if i get a lab, have it trained, can i let it run around because i herd something about you have to keep them in a cage or it will forget what it was trained. is that true? im new to dogs so i believe anything people tell me i dont know any better
Old 03-11-2004, 04:16 AM
Fork Horn

Default RE: keping a dog in a cage?

Keeping a dog in a Kennel while you are away from home assures that the dog won't be able to ruin your house, it also keeps the dog safe from getting hurt by chewing things that maybe hazardous to him ,such as, electricle cords,household cleaners, medicines, etc... Kennel training is important when you have a new pup for all these reasons but it is the easiest and fastest way to house break your new pup. After the pup is over the chewing stage and after he is house trained then you can slowly begin to leave him with the kennel door open for longer and longer periods of time, and eventually, when you are sure you can trust him in the house alone then you can eliminate the kennel. BEFORE YOU GET A PUP YOU SHOULD LEARN EVERYTHING YOU CAN ABOUT HOW TO TRAIN HIM PROPERLY TO DO THE THINGS THAT YOU EXPECT HIM TO. BUY SOME BOOKS, RENT SOME VIDEOS, WATCH DOG TRAINING SHOWS ON ANIMAL PLANET, ASK PEOPLE WHO YOU KNOW THAT HAVE A WELL TRAINED ANIMAL. DO NOT GO INTO OWNING A DOG WITYHOUT BEING WELL INFORMED ABOUT WHAT YOU ARE GETTING YOURSELF INTO. YOU WILL BE ENTERING INTO A SERIOUS RELATIONSHIP THAT WILL LAST FOR 10 TO 15 YEARS AND YOU WILL BE THE ONE RESPONSIBLE FOR EVERYTHING THAT HAPPENS IN YOUR NEW PUPS LIFE! When you do get your new pup BE PREPARED FOR ANYTING and EVERYTHING that lies ahead.
Old 03-11-2004, 05:51 AM
Fork Horn

Seth07: