Community
Sporting Dogs What's the best dog for what type of game? Find out what other hunters think.

Best Pointer?

Old 11-04-2005, 09:07 AM

Default Best Pointer?

I currently have a lab, and I am looking at getting a pointer to work with it. I hunt pheasants in Iowa. I have limited experience with pointers, I have only hunted with vizsla (sp). What is the best pointer for Iowa Pheasant hunting?
Old 11-04-2005, 09:42 AM

Default RE: Best Pointer?

birttany is my dog of choice exellent pointer vey easy to train
Old 11-04-2005, 10:27 AM

I would agree, My opinion is etheir Brittany, German Shorthair, or even vizla, but i'd want it from gun dog kennel. Here is afriend of minesweb site, he's got some very nice dogs, www.DellingersDogs.com Tell him that jonesy sent you , he's next to Gainesville georgia. Very honest, and very biddable dogs. Jonesy
Old 11-04-2005, 10:29 AM

One more thing, make sure the dog is broke, or steady, if you get a pointing dog, its a bad cross to hunt with flushing breed, If not broke, pointing dog will fall to peices. Thanks Jonesy
Old 11-04-2005, 04:41 PM

Do you get a commission for these dogs you attempt to sell, crackin'?

obbie, Over 50 years I've owned and trained about all kinds of pointers except Brits. I hunt tough country and I've just seen too many Brits give up in the sand burrs and cactus, so I've just never acquired one.

I've hunted behind some Brits in Kansas and Nebraska that did OK on pheasants, but I don't think you'd go wrong with a shorthair. There is a lot of variance in the ranges within the breed, so do your homework and get a pup or dog that fits you. DON'T mail order a pup because some pro recommends it.