Community
Sporting Dogs What's the best dog for what type of game? Find out what other hunters think.

training question

Old 06-11-2005, 07:23 PM
Typical Buck

Default training question

im getting an english pointer in aug. i got 3 books to read on training. and im reading one now and i have a couple of questions but ill just start w/ one.. im going to be doing a lot of grouse hunting, and i know the pointers range far but whats a good thing to start to teach a close working dog? and a lot of the training is for field work and it doesnt touch much on working them in cover.. what are some things i can do to teach in cover?? im new to this so please bare w/ me
thanks
Old 06-11-2005, 07:39 PM

Default RE: training question

I ranged my German Shorthair by first teaching her the come command (whistle, voice and hand) - Make sure the dog has this down pat before going on. Then I walked her in cut fields (dog visible at all times), ALWAYS keeping her in front of me (I did'nt care where she went I always turned to keep her in front). If she got to far out I tooted the whistle once (the attention call) and called her in (voice, hand or a double toot - the come command). When she was close enough I whoaed her and gave her the "Hunt em up" voice command and cast her off (left, right or out). After doing this 50 million bazillion times, she got the idea of how far in front I liked her. Sorry but there is no other way that I know of other than pure repetition. over and over and over and over and over. Dont take the dog into the thick stuff till she/he has an idea of what you expect. They are so eager to please and when they get it, it's a thing of beauty.

I specifically chose the breeding line of my dog based on the range I wanted it to hunt for me. English pointers (from what I understand) are typically a longer ranging dog...I believe you have your work cut out for you.
Old 06-13-2005, 06:53 PM
Typical Buck