Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Sporting Dogs
 beagle training question >

beagle training question

Community
Sporting Dogs What's the best dog for what type of game? Find out what other hunters think.

beagle training question

Old 11-07-2005, 04:39 PM

Default beagle training question

I just got my first beagle and I'm new to training. Thescenario I'm running in to is I took my beagle out a couple of weeks ago to track a deer my dad shot and he did very well. The only problem I have now is when I take him out small game hunting he gets on the trail of deer all the time. Last time I had him out he chased a big buck right back to me ...and ran the thing about 200 yards away. I thought I was going to lose him.

So my question is...how do I undo what I've done by accidentally training him to track deer. Do I buy a shock collar and shock him if I see him chasing a deer. The only problem with that is if he chases the deer out ahead of me andI dont see it, how doI knowwhether he is running a rabbit or a deer whenhe is barking.

Thanks for any input.
Old 11-07-2005, 05:24 PM

Default RE: beagle training question

try www.lcsupply.com that's Lion Country Supply, it's a hunting dog training supply site. They have a scent collar for $8.95 and Deer Breaking scent is $5.95. The idea is the dog is exposed to the deer scent constantly and either tires of the scent or starts to ignore the smell. My father has always had beagles and has had sucess with this method. I don't know of any other method that works, the deer scent is just too strong and easy to trail. One tip if you loose the dogs lay your shirt (or something with your scent on it) at the place you let them out of the truck. We did this many times and almost always the next morning the dogs would be laying on the shirt when we returned to get them. Be sure to request thier catalog there is a lot of good items for hound care. Good Luck
Old 11-07-2005, 05:31 PM