Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Reloading
 newbie reloder w/newbie questions >

newbie reloder w/newbie questions

Community
Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

newbie reloder w/newbie questions

Old 01-24-2005, 05:32 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default newbie reloder w/newbie questions

sorry guys,
I am totally new to reloading--never even seen it done before--been shootin' and huntin' all my life. I'm primarily interested in reloading (to enhance performance) for my 7mm wsm (ruger-m77--bought it in Oct) It grouped ok, but not what I would consider exceptional (avg probably 2.5''-3'' @200yds) it's a stainless/synthetic. I shot 160 gr nosler accubonds in it by both federal and winchester (it seemed to like the winchester a little better). I probably shot 200 rds in it before hunting season. The accubonds themselves performed great--4 animals dropped in their tracks. I also have a 6mm and .308 which i'd be interested in reloading for if all works out. I just need to know what you guys consider the best way for a beginner to start. what manuals to buy or websites to visit? are there starting kits? basically--HELP

ps Is it reasonable to expect performance enhancement from reloading? or is mostly done for economic reasons

hb
Old 01-24-2005, 06:12 PM

Default RE: newbie reloder w/newbie questions

RCBS has a good starter kit it comes with a manual also, I like to use manuals form powder manufactures, and bullet munufactures also. I get a lot of my supplies from Midway USA they have fair prices. Yes you can enhanee performance, and save a lot of money in the process.
Old 01-24-2005, 09:58 PM
Nontypical Buck

Thanks Brush hunter---what powder recomendation might you make?
thanks again
hb
Old 01-24-2005, 10:16 PM