Community
Bowhunting Gear Review Broadheads, arrows, rests, bows, and more... read the latest reviews of hot new gear items related to archery and bowhunting.

Newbie questions

Old 10-24-2003, 11:26 AM

Default Newbie questions

Howdy. I' ve been lurking here for a while, taking in everything I can. I would like to hear your advice on what would be a good beginners bow, arrows, equipment, etc. I am a rifle hunter so I have hunting experience but would like to try something new. I have visions of teaching my sons how to bow hunt and shooting a few arrows after work (not so easily done with a rifle). I have no bow experience so any and all advice is welcome.
Old 10-24-2003, 11:34 AM
Banned

Default [Deleted]

[Deleted by Admins]
Old 10-24-2003, 12:15 PM

Default RE: Newbie questions

Joining an archery club,is another good way to get started.Most archers are willing to help out a newcomer to the sport.Plus you have the use of the archery range.

Joe
Old 10-24-2003, 12:40 PM

Hello Newbie,

I have a good tip for you. I live in Houston too and had been away from archery for many years. I recently bought a new bow online and had to get it set up. I spoke with Mike in the archery department at the Bass Pro Shop at the Katy Mills Mall. Mike set up everything for me, even though I didn' t buy the bow from him. He is very knowledgable and my new bow shoots great. What I liked most about Mike is that he is honest. (I know for a fact at least one pro shop in the Houston area is dishonest.) I wanted to buy an accessory from him and he discouraged me from spending the money. He didn' t try to sell me things I didn' t need. Bass Pro Shop has an extensive inventory of bows and equipment. They also have an indoor range for $7/hour.

If you decide to speak with Mike, call before you go in because he doesn' t work every day.