Community
Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

On the fence.

Old 11-02-2011, 04:09 AM
Spike

Default On the fence.

After cruising the forums I thought this might be a good place to ask this question. I have shot 150 gr. remington express core lokt for 10 years out of my Remington 760 in .308.This year I am baffled as the older stuff puts them in there to 1.25" at one hundred yards as always. I bought 2 new boxes and they wont group any better than 5" at a hundred. I put the old back in without ever touching the rifle and its dead on. I am familiar with the different lot numbers but wow 5" ? I am finally going to purchase a high end rifle next year. Probably in .270 win and I want to get all I can out of it. So here's the question, Is that common for factory loads to vary that much? if so I need to buy a press pronto. Any input is appreciated. I am very new to most of this as I have never been able to use my .308 here in N.Y. for Deer until this year. Heck my Ihaca Shotgun can beat 5" at a hundred yards. I should add, the rifle shoots them all around the bull, nowhere in particular just 2.5" out of dead center to either side, up, or down. Thanks Doug.
Old 11-02-2011, 04:41 AM
Nontypical Buck

If you want consistency start loading your own otherwise your at the mercy of ammo makers.I use the Lee hand press and my first loads in 2 out of 3 rifles produced tighter groups than any factory loads.
Old 11-02-2011, 04:58 AM
Fork Horn

Yep, hand loading is the way to go for accuracy and consistency. That said, I've had fairly good luck with the Federal Power Shok ammo for factory ammo in most cases.
Old 11-04-2011, 02:31 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default Well newbie you have a problem

Remember, there are manufacturing problems that arise; reloading problems also arise.